Takeo Declared Mine-Free Province under STP-MA

Takeo has achieved the mine-free status thanks to the Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen’s Project for Mine Action (STP-MA) under “Providing Safe Ground, Creating smile” motto.

The declaration of Takeo as a mine-free province was held at the provincial hall this morning under the presidency of H.E. Ly Thuch, Cambodian Senior Minister and First Vice President of the Cambodian Mine Action and Victim Assistance Authority (CMAA).

According to H.E. Ly Thuch, Takeo is the 11th mine-free province in Cambodia under the STP-MA, and the other ten including Stung Treng, Kep, Prey Veng, Preah Sihanouk, Thbong Khmum, Kampong Cham, Svay Rieng, Kampong Chhnang and Kandal provinces, and Phnom Penh capital.

A total of 2,888 anti-personnel landmines, 61 anti-tank mines and 37,583 UXO on an area of almost 4,675,797 square metres have been so far found and destroyed by the Cambodian Mine Action Centre (CMAC), he pointed out.

Cambodia still has about three years left to achieve the mine-free status by 2025.

Source: Agence Kampuchea Presse